商标指南

简介

FileMaker, Inc. 正确地持续使用商标来标识其商品和服务,因而获得了宝贵的知识产权。如果商标使用不当,其价值便难以体现出来或者变得很普通。以下指南面向许可证持有人和其他第三方,旨在回答有关正确合法使用 FileMaker 商标的问题,同时避免因不当或非法使用而引起的消费者困惑。值得注意的是,您应当在向公众分发的所有促销、广告、说明或参考材料中或者在网站、产品、标签或包装上标识这些商标,以便正确使用并保护这些标记。

FileMaker 法律部门

2013 年 12 月

FileMaker 商标列表

FileMaker®

FileMaker Go®

FileMaker, Inc. 徽标

FileMaker WebDirect™

FileMaker 国际商标列表

FileMaker™

FileMaker Go™

FileMaker, Inc. 徽标

FileMaker WebDirect™

什么是商标?

商标是 FileMaker 采用和使用的词语、名称、符号、图案、设计、短语、声音或颜色,旨在标识其商品和服务并将其与其他商品和服务区分开。商标通常标注有 ™ 或 ® 符号。在美国,带有 ™ 的商标是未在美国专利和商标局注册的商标,而带有 ® 的商标是已在美国专利和商标局注册的商标。然而,商标也可能已在国际上注册,每个国家/地区都有关于正确标注商标的不同法律。

*此列表不是唯一的,FileMaker 保留随时添加或删除商标的权利。

许可用途

参考商标使用。

FileMaker 不反对您在营销和促销材料、书籍和其他印刷体、会议、应用程序、演示以及 Internet 相关位置中使用我们的商标或产品名(但不是徽标)作为参考,前提是在使用时遵守下述指南:
  1. 遵守下文“正确使用商标”部分所述的内容。
  2. 确保您使用 FileMaker 会给 FileMaker、其产品和技术带来积极影响,而不会损害 FileMaker 或其产品和服务的名誉。
  3. 为了避免误导公众,请不要在您的公司、产品或服务名称中使用 FileMaker 商标。此外,FileMaker 商标看起来不得比您公司的名称和徽标更突出。
  4. 您应当包含商标归属声明,就商标所有权赋予 FileMaker 适当的声誉。请参阅下面的“正确使用商标”部分。
  5. 您完全或一定程度上承认 FileMaker 是商标的唯一所有者,并且承诺您将不侵犯 FileMaker 的商标权,包括以挑战性的方式在世界上任何地方单独或加上其他词语注册 FileMaker 使用、注册或应用的此类商标,此外,您还应保证不会损害、误用 FileMaker 的任何商标或者使其丧失名誉。因使用任何 FileMaker 商标的任何部分而获得的商誉仅由 FileMaker 受益并且属于 FileMaker。

网站和域名使用。

如果网站域名含有词语“FileMaker”和其他可区分的词语、数字或符号,其可以在域名中使用文字商标,前提是使用时遵守以下要求:
  1. 您不能在您的公司名称、产品名称或服务名称中使用任何 FileMaker 商标,包括但不限于 FileMaker 名称。此外,您也不能使用任何 FileMaker 商标作为域名中最突出的词语。
  2. 网站必须有助于:a) 促进产品和/或服务与 FileMaker 产品和技术兼容;或者 b) 用作与 FileMaker 产品和技术相关的信息论坛。
  3. 网站不会给人一种 FileMaker、其产品或服务在代言、赞助或者虚假关联的感觉。
  4. 您应该在网站上加入 FileMaker 赞助、加盟或代言的免责声明,内容如下所示:“(公司名称)是独立的实体,本网站尚未获得 FileMaker, Inc. 授权、赞助或加盟。FileMaker 是 FileMaker, Inc. 在美国和其他国家/地区注册的商标。
  5. 在网站上使用 FileMaker 文字商标应符合上文“参考商标使用”段落所述的指南以及下文“正确使用商标”部分的内容。
  6. 您不能使用单独的词语“filemaker”、“filemakerpro”或任何其他 FileMaker 产品名称作为域名(例如,filemaker.xyz、filemakerserver.com)。

除了这些条款明确准许的有限使用权利外,下文不暗示或以其他方式授予任何其他类型的权利。

标题。

FileMaker 不审查或专门授予在书标题、系列标题、网站标题或其他标题中使用其商标的权限。出版商应当就在其标题中正确参考其他公司的商标向其自己的法律顾问进行咨询。只要符合以下条件,参考 FileMaker 商标的标题通常是可接受的:(1) FileMaker 商标不作为第一个词出现,或者不出现在标题中最突出的部分;(2) FileMaker 商标不用在可能会暗示 FileMaker 联盟、赞助或认证的任何其他位置(例如,使用 FileMaker 商标作为徽标、设计或其他图形的一部分);(3) 书封面不包含任何 FileMaker 徽标、标识语、图标、商业外观或其他设计;(4) 书中包含明显的与 FileMaker 关联的免责声明;(5) FileMaker 的商标正确地标有相应的 TM 或 ® 符号并且归 FileMaker 所有。

徽标使用。

FileMaker 通常不允许第三方使用其徽标,除非得到了 FileMaker, Inc. 的书面许可,否则不应使用其徽标。有关使用 FileMaker 徽标的详细信息,请发送电子邮件联系 FileMaker 法律部门,电子邮箱为:legal@filemaker.com

正确使用商标

使用 FileMaker 商标时,请遵守以下指南。对于所有其他国家/地区,请使用 ™ 代替 ®,因为 FileMaker 商标并未在所有国家/地区注册。

  1. 商标始终是一个用来描述特定人物、地点或事情的专有形容词。FileMaker 商标首次出现在文本中时用作专用形容词(而非名词或动词)。不要将商标用作动词:
    正确: FileMaker® Pro 软件具有强大的数据库功能。
    错误: FileMaker® Pro 具有强大的数据库功能。
    错误: 应当对您的所有数据进行 FileMaker®,以便于管理 IT。
  2. 指定商标的常见做法是将其符号(® 或 ™)放在形容词(商标)后,其修饰的名词前,以及扩展项(例如“Pro”或版本号)之前:
    正确: FileMaker® Pro 软件
    错误:FileMaker Pro® 软件
  3. 不要以复数或所有格形式使用商标
    正确: 使用 FileMaker® Pro 软件,可以自定义数据库。
    错误: 利用 FileMaker 的灵活性,可以自定义数据库。
    正确: FileMaker® Pro 软件可在企业内使用。
    错误: FileMakers 可在企业内使用。
  4. 不要用连字符连接商标
    正确: FileMaker® Pro 软件是一个功能强大的关系数据库。
    错误: File-Maker® Pro 软件是一个功能强大的关系数据库。
  5. 不要更改商标
    正确: 使用 FileMaker® Pro 软件可以组织员工档案。
    错误: 对员工档案进行 FileMakerize®。
  6. 不要将两个或更多个商标组合在一起:
    正确: 适用于 Windows 的 FileMaker® Pro 数据库。
    错误: FileMaker® Pro Windows® 数据库。
  7. 不要将您的商标或第三方商标与任何 FileMaker 商标组合在一起作为名称或您的产品,或者在您的任何材料中使用。
    正确: 适用于 FileMaker® Pro 软件的 ABC 公司模板。
    错误: 使用 ABC FileMaker® 模板。
    错误: 使用 FileMaker® 小组件模板。
  8. 您不能在您的公司名称、产品名称或服务名称中使用任何 FileMaker 商标,包括但不限于 FileMaker 名称:
    错误:FileMaker 培训公司
    错误:FileMaker 工具公司

商标符号、荣誉行和商标名称

通过商标符号、荣誉行和商标名称进行正确的商标归属声明有助于公众知道我们的商标,并且可避免这些商标成为普通词语。荣誉行还有助于阐明这些商标属于 FileMaker。因此,如果您使用下述商标符号、荣誉行和商标名称声明 FileMaker 商标的所有权归 FileMaker, Inc. 所有,FileMaker 将对您表示感谢。

商标符号和放置位置。

在产品、包装、手册、广告和宣传资料中,将商标符号(“®”或“™”)作为 FileMaker 商标最明显的外观。首次文本(标题后面)中提到 FileMaker 商标时,至少应使用这些符号。之后,不必使用商标符号。例如:

正确:

适用于 Windows 的 FileMaker Pro 简介

使用 FileMaker® Pro 数据库,您可以更有效地管理您的信息,而不必学习复杂的编程命令。FileMaker Pro 是一款功能非常强大的数据库应用程序。

荣誉行。

荣誉行应当出现在手册、出版物或其他材料的开头或结尾。准备荣誉行时,需要遵守几项通用规则:
  • 荣誉行中不应含有商标符号(® 或 ™)或扩展项(例如“Pro”或版本号)。
  • 如果材料中未显示商标,荣誉行中不应包含商标。

荣誉行示例:FileMaker 是 FileMaker, Inc. 在美国和其他国家/地区注册的商标。FileMaker WebDirect 是 FileMaker, Inc. 的商标。

商标名称。

商标名称是公司实际的商业名称。即使许多公司使用其商标名称作为商标,但商标和商标名称是不同的。如果使用“FileMaker”替代 FileMaker, Inc.,表明您将其用作商标名称。由于它们都是名词,商标名称可以所有格的形式使用,并且不需要普通词语或商标符号。因此,“FileMaker”作为完整公司名称或商标名称的一部分时,不需要在其后面加 ®。例如:

公司名称:此软件由 FileMaker, Inc. 开发。

商标名称:此软件由 FileMaker 开发。

商标名称:FileMaker 的最新软件引领行业潮流。

商标:FileMaker® 数据库引领行业潮流。

其他复制指南

  • 除了 FileMaker 不时更新的 FileMaker 商标列表中列出的内容外,您不得使用任何其他 FileMaker 商标、徽标或设计。
  • 您不得在任何促销商品(例如,衬衫、钥匙扣、杯子、鼠标垫等)上使用 FileMaker 商标。
  • FileMaker 商标的大小和放置位置必须明确体现出您是独立的实体,而不是 FileMaker 的组成部分。任何情况下,从视觉上看您公司与 FileMaker 之间的联系时,必须清楚地表明两家公司之间实质上不存在依赖关系。
  • 您不能让您的公司表现出是 FileMaker“官方”、“独有”、“授权”或“特许经营”的公司。
  • 描述 FileMaker 产品和服务时,必须公正地表明它们由 FileMaker 销售和分销。如果材料中包含的主题在 FileMaker 看来可能是粗俗的,您不能在该材料中使用任何 FileMaker 商标。此外,您也不能以对 FileMaker 产生不利影响或者根据 FileMaker 的合理判断会降低或损害 FileMaker 商誉的方式或在此类上下文中使用 FileMaker 商标。
  • 除了提供 FileMaker 已发布的最新消息外,您不得对 FileMaker、其产品或服务做出任何声明。
  • FileMaker 未授权您使用任何其他第三方商标,即使它们与 FileMaker 产品或服务一起使用也是如此。

FileMaker 商标是 FileMaker 宝贵的财产权利。请根据前述指南正确对待它们。FileMaker 商标使用不当可能会让您承担商标侵权或假冒索赔的法律后果。

问题和信息

如果您对 FileMaker 商标有疑问或者需要更多相关信息,请联系 FileMaker 法律部门,联系方式如下:

FileMaker, Inc., Attn:Legal Department
5201 Patrick Henry Drive, M/S C-51
Santa Clara, California 95054
传真:(408) 987-7460
电子邮件:legal@filemaker.com

返回页首

Company

Trademark Guidelines

Introduction

FileMaker, Inc. has gained valuable intellectual property rights by the proper and continuous usage of Trademarks to identify its goods and services. If a Trademark is improperly used, its value can become diluted or generic. These guidelines have been developed for licensees and other third parties to answer common questions regarding the proper legal usage of FileMaker Trademarks and to prevent consumer confusion that can result from improper or illegal usage. It is important that you use and protect these marks properly by identifying these Trademarks in all of your promotional, advertising, instructional or reference materials, which are distributed to the public, or on your web sites, products, labels or packaging.

FileMaker Legal Department

December 2013

FileMaker Trademark List

FileMaker®

FileMaker Go®

FileMaker, Inc. Logo

FileMaker WebDirect™

FileMaker International Trademark List

FileMaker™

FileMaker Go™

FileMaker, Inc. Logo

FileMaker WebDirect™

What is a trademark?

A trademark is a word, name, symbol, device, design, phrase, sound, or color adopted and used by FileMaker to identify its goods and services and to distinguish them from other goods and services. Trademarks are usually noted with a ™ or a ® symbol. In the United States, a trademark that is noted by a ™ is not registered with the United States Patent and Trademark Office, and a trademark noted with an ® has been registered with the United States Patent and Trademark Office. Trademarks, however, may also be registered internationally and each country has different laws regarding the proper notation of trademarks.

*This list is not exclusive and FileMaker reserves the right to add or delete trademarks at any time.

Permissible Use

Referential Trademark Usage.

FileMaker does not object to your making referential use of our trademarks or product names (but not logos) in marketing and promotional materials, books and other printed matter, conferences, applications, demonstrations, and on internet locations, provided such use complies with the guidelines set forth below:
  1. You adhere to the "Proper Use of Trademarks" section below.
  2. You ensure that your use of the FileMaker trademarks reflects favorably on FileMaker, its products and technologies; and you do not disparage FileMaker or its products and services.
  3. To avoid misleading the public, do not use FileMaker trademarks as part of your company, product or service name. In addition, FileMaker trademarks must not appear more prominently than your company title and logo.
  4. You include a trademark attribution notice giving FileMaker proper credit with regard to the ownership of its trademark(s). See the following section entitled, "Proper Use of Trademarks."
  5. You acknowledge in whole or in part that FileMaker is the sole owner of the trademarks and promise that you will not interfere with the trademark rights of FileMaker, including challenging FileMaker's use of, registration of, or application to register such trademarks, alone or in combination with other words, anywhere in the world, and that you will not harm, misuse, or bring into disrepute any FileMaker trademark. The goodwill derived from using any part of any FileMaker trademark exclusively inures to the benefit of and belongs to FileMaker.

Websites and Domain Name Usage.

Web site domain names that include the term "FileMaker" combined with other distinguishing words, numbers or symbols, may use the word marks as part of the domain name provided that such use complies with the following requirements:
  1. You may not use any FileMaker trademark, including but not limited to the FileMaker name, as part of your company name, product name or service name. Also, you may not use any FileMaker trademark as the most prominent word in your domain name.
  2. The web site must serve to: a) promote products and/or services that are compatible with FileMaker products and technology; or b) serve as an informational forum concerning FileMaker products and technology.
  3. The web site does not create a sense of endorsement, sponsorship, or false association with FileMaker, its products or services.
  4. You include the following disclaimer of sponsorship, affiliation, or endorsement by FileMaker on your web site similar to the following: "(Company Name) is an independent entity and this web site has not been authorized, sponsored, or otherwise affiliated with FileMaker, Inc. FileMaker is a trademark of FileMaker, Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries."
  5. The use of the FileMaker word mark on the web site complies with the guidelines set forth in the above "Referential Trademark Usage" paragraph and the following section entitled, "Proper Use of Trademarks."
  6. You may not use the word "filemaker", "filemakerpro" or any other FileMaker product name alone as a domain name (e.g., filemaker.xyz, filemakerserver.com).

Except for the limited right to use as expressly permitted under these terms, no other rights of any kind are granted hereunder, by implication or otherwise.

Titles.

FileMaker does not review or specifically grant permission to use its trademarks in book titles, series titles, website titles, or other titles. Publishers should consult their own legal counsel regarding proper referential use of others' trademarks in their titles. Titles that refer to FileMaker trademarks are generally appropriate so long as: (1) the FileMaker trademark does not appear as the first word or otherwise as the most prominent part of the title; (2) the FileMaker trademark is not used in any other manner that might suggest FileMaker's affiliation, sponsorship, or certification (e.g., using FileMaker trademarks as part of logos, designs, or other graphics); (3) the book cover does not include any FileMaker logos, logotypes, icons, trade dress, or other designs; (4) the book includes a prominent disclaimer of association with FileMaker; and (5) FileMaker's trademarks are properly marked with the appropriate a TM or ® symbol and attributed to FileMaker.

Logo Usage.

FileMaker generally does not permit third party use of its logos, and you should not use them unless you have express written consent from FileMaker, Inc. For more information regarding use of FileMaker logos, please contact the FileMaker legal department via e-mail @ legal@filemaker.com.

Proper Use of Trademarks

Please comply with these guidelines when using FileMaker Trademarks. For all other countries, please use ™ instead of ® as FileMaker trademarks are not registered in every country.

  1. A trademark is always a proper adjective that describes a specific person, place or thing. Use a FileMaker trademark as a proper adjective (not a noun or verb) the first time it is used in text. Never use a mark as a verb:
    Correct: FileMaker® Pro software gives you powerful database features.
    Incorrect: FileMaker® Pro gives you powerful database features.
    Incorrect: You should FileMaker® all your data for easy IT management.
  2. The common way to designate a trademark is to place its symbol (® or (TM)) after the adjective (trademark), before the noun it modifies, and before the extension (such as "Pro" or the version number):
    Correct: FileMaker® Pro software
    Incorrect: FileMaker Pro® software
  3. Never Use Trademarks in a Possessive or Plural Form
    Correct: FileMaker® Pro software lets you to customize your database.
    Incorrect: FileMaker's flexibility lets you to customize your database.
    Correct: FileMaker® Pro software can used throughout your business.
    Incorrect: FileMakers can be used throughout your business.
  4. Never Hyphenate a Trademark
    Correct: FileMaker® Pro software is a powerful relational database.
    Incorrect: File-Maker® Pro software is a powerful relational database.
  5. Never Alter a Trademark
    Correct: Use FileMaker® Pro software to organize your employee files.
    Incorrect: FileMakerize® your employee files.
  6. Never combine two or more trademarks:
    Correct: FileMaker® Pro database for Windows.
    Incorrect: FileMaker® Pro Windows® database.
  7. Do not combine your marks or third party marks with any FileMaker trademarks, either as the name or your product or in any of your materials.
    Correct: ABC Company's template for FileMaker® Pro software.
    Incorrect: Use the ABC FileMaker® template.
    Incorrect: Use the FileMaker® Widget template.
  8. You may not use any FileMaker trademark, including but not limited to the FileMaker name, as part of your company name, product name or service name:
    Incorrect: The FileMaker Training Company
    Incorrect: FileMaker Tools Company

Trademark Symbols, Credit Lines, and Trade Names

Proper trademark attribution through trademark symbols, credit lines, and trade names helps make the public aware of our trademarks, and helps prevent them from becoming generic terms. Credit lines also help clarify that they belong to FileMaker. Accordingly, FileMaker would appreciate you attributing ownership of FileMaker trademarks to FileMaker, Inc. by using trademarks symbols, credit lines, and trade names as outlined below.

Trademarks Symbols and Placement.

On products, packaging, manuals, advertisements and promotional materials, use a trademark symbol ("®" or "™") with the most prominent appearance of a FileMaker trademark. These symbols must be used at least the first time a FileMaker mark is mentioned in the text (after the title). Thereafter, you do not need to use the trademark symbol. For example:

Correct:

Introducing FileMaker Pro for Windows

The FileMaker® Pro database allows you to manage your information more effectively without having to learn complicated programming commands. FileMaker Pro is a very powerful database application.

Credit Lines.

Credit lines should appear either at the beginning or end of your manuals, publications, or other materials. There are a few general rules to follow when preparing credit lines:
  • You should not include trademark symbols (® or ™) or the extension (such as "Pro" or the version number) in the credit line.
  • You should not include trademarks in the credit line if the trademarks do not appear in the materials.

Sample Credit Line: FileMaker is a trademark of FileMaker, Inc., registered in the U.S.and other countries. FileMaker WebDirect is a trademark of FileMaker, Inc.

Trade Names.

Trade names are the actual business names of companies. trademarks and trade names are not the same, even though many companies use their trade names as trademarks. If you are using "FileMaker" as a substitute for FileMaker, Inc., you are using it as a trade name. Because they are nouns, trade names can be used in the possessive and do not require a generic term or a trademark symbol. Thus, you are not required to use a ® after "FileMaker" when it appears as part of the full corporate name or as a trade name. For example:

Corporate Name: This software was developed by FileMaker, Inc.

Trade Name: This software was developed by FileMaker.

Trade Name: FileMaker's latest software leads the industry.

Trademark: The FileMaker® database leads the industry.

Other Copy Guidelines

  • You must not use any FileMaker trademarks, logos or designs other than those listed on the FileMaker trademark list as updated by FileMaker from time to time.
  • You must not use FileMaker trademarks on any promotional merchandise (e.g. shirts, key chains, mugs, mouse pads, etc.).
  • The size and placement of the FileMaker trademarks must emphasize clearly that you are an independent entity, and not part of FileMaker. In all cases, the visual affiliation between your company and FileMaker must clearly indicate the independent nature of the relationship between the two companies.
  • You may not represent your company as "official," "exclusive," "approved," or "franchised" by FileMaker.
  • Depiction of FileMaker products and services must be a fair representation of them as marketed and distributed by FileMaker. You may not use any FileMaker trademarks in any material, which contains subject matter, which FileMaker may deem, in our opinion, in poor taste. Further, you may not use the FileMaker trademarks in a manner or context that reflects unfavorably upon FileMaker or which will diminish or damage FileMaker's goodwill, in FileMaker's reasonable judgment.
  • You must not make any claims about FileMaker, its products or services, other than presenting current information, which has been published by FileMaker.
  • You are not authorized by FileMaker to use any other third party marks, even if they are used in connection with the FileMaker products or services.

The FileMaker trademarks are valuable property rights of FileMaker. Please treat them properly in accordance with the foregoing guidelines. Misuse of the FileMaker trademarks may subject you to trademark infringement or passing off claims.

Questions and Information

If you have questions or would like further information regarding FileMaker Trademarks, please contact the FileMaker Legal Department as follows:

FileMaker, Inc., Attn: Legal Department
5201 Patrick Henry Drive, M/S C-51
Santa Clara, California 95054
Fax: (408) 987-7460
Email: legal@filemaker.com

Back to top